>What do they think of you?

>

I know what they think of me, I mean other people, my family, direct and extended, my friends, my bosses & colleagues, my neighbors, my acquaintances.

What do they think? Well thank God, many of the people I care about can stand me :). Others don’t really feel a click between me and them, or they feel nothing for me; sometimes they say so & so about me.

How do I know? Well, good and bad things fly, and people know people who know people who know me. And people like to share opinions and secrets. The hick is that they forget that everyone is at most six steps away from any other person on Earth called the six degrees of seperation (according to Frigyes Karinthy, a Hungarian author) so whatever has been said ends up in my lap most of the time 🙂 for sure, what I say flies the same way as well, so you would get what I said about you 😉

This is a process that is almost impossible to disappear, I mean talking about people. What you do about it is what makes the difference.

What do I do about it myself? The good parts make me happy, joyful, and proud of myself in front of myself…the “less good” parts, I take them, validate them, if they are true, it will be a reality check for me and I will try to fix it. I am not sure whether it is true or false? I put it in quarantine, not letting it affecting me but keeping a close eye on it, to see if I will get the same thing later then I need to work on it. Now if I am positive it is wrong, I dump it and forget about it, since it doesn’t apply to me.
See, if someone said that you are stupid when you know that most of your life you were smart enough to lead a susccessful one, would his/her opinion makes you stupid just because they said so? No! what they think belong to them, it is their perception; and let me tell you here, perception is one thing, reality is another. If you say the sun is blue, it won’t become one!
The trap is when you take it personally and try to change those people’s opinion. Why? To make them see how good you are or how smart you are or how funny you are? But…you are already all that…why the extra effort? To convince people who can’t already see the person you are? So you think by trying harder you will make them so? Again, why? Wouldn’t that be a wasted energy? Wouldn’t you better spend it on people who already appreciate you? Yes, those people whom most of the time we take for granted…redirect your energy, your care and your love toward them, because, with the right people, all this will come back to you…
You can’t please all people all the time, and I am not sure you want to! Some of them, you really really don’t want them to like you!
One of the quotes that you might have come across for Dr. Seuss, an american cartoonist: “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”
Now tell me what do you think of you?

Leave a Reply

