>2010-11-05 – Friday Whisper – The Engine or the Body?

>

Imagine this scenario: I paid a fortune for a handbag made by a well-known designer; I went to a restaurant and put it up on the table (such bags are not made to be put on the chair next to me of course!); you pass by, look at the bag, recognize the brand and say “Wow! She must be a rich girl to be able to afford this!” So what? At the end of the day, with little math, I paid hundreds of dollars for your thought as well as the thoughts of others…and I go home and start thinking about my next show-off strategic move…
Well, personally I wouldn’t do this; I hardly know the handbag’s brands!!! And I would pass by your table with your handbag unseen!!! But I’ve met lots of people, men and women, who would do similar things, when it comes to jewelry, bags, clothes, cars, furniture…
I’m not saying I don’t like quality stuff…but I don’t like when people go beyond their financial capability to impress others, strangers most of the time!!! Now you would say what if they can afford it? Well, still, if they are doing it to impress others, I would think that they are doing it most probably to compensate for a more serious problem within themselves!
If a person wouldn’t talk to me because I don’t comply with his/her social standards when it comes to material things (clothes, bags, watches, etc…) why would I go the extra mile to please him/her when I am not interested to befriend such person?
If a person would pity me thinking that I am poor because I am not wearing expensive stuff or I’m not driving a car-of-the-year, when I’m not impressed with their brands or cars, why would I care?
And if a person has his/her credit cards maxed-out to get all the stuff they want and I don’t have any outstanding credit card balance, tell me who is really richer in that case?
You might own the biggest house on Earth and I might have only one room apartment… but guess what? At the end of the day, you will only need one room to sleep; and me too…
I care about how they think of me after an interview but only to know better my strong and weak points…I care about what people meeting me for the first time would say but only to self-check how good/bad the impression I make on them…I use those comments as a mirror to see myself in the eyes of others…But I don’t care if people would admire my possessions! I care more if people like my blogs for instance! 😉
It is not easy to be indifferent towards what people think of us…it really matters what do they think about our characters rather than about what we possess…
Get the car of your dream, get the house of your dream, get the laptop of your dream, get I-donno-what of your dream, own them but don’t let them own you…it is called a dream, don’t make it a nightmare by going into debts just to please others…
John Wooden, a basketball coach, said: “Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.”
And Bertrand Russel, a philosopher, said: “It is preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents men from living freely and nobly. “
When you want to go somewhere, what would matter more? The car engine or the car body?
Rania Hammoud

Leave a Reply

