>2011-01-07 – Friday Whisper – Don’t Take Any Resolution!

>

You heard me right…Do yourself a favor and don’t take any resolution this year, for a change!
You know that list of starting a diet, subscribing in the gym, quitting smoking, quitting drinking, getting out of debt or getting organized, learning this sport or that language, acquiring a degree, buying a car, changing job? Yeah, the same list you’ve been writing and rewriting for the last 3-4 years…that list, take it and shred it…
Year after year, we take resolutions that we drop the very first month or even week of the year… When the end of year gets closer and closer, we become excited about the New Year and start thinking about our resolutions. We start writing them in a journal or in a Word document. By the time we finish writing them, our excitement starts to calm down…By the time we get thru the New Year, we tend to forget about the list we have written once…hmmm… I’ve seen this movie before, haven’t you? 🙂
Mark Twain, an American author, said: “New Year’s Day:  Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions.  Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.”
And an unknown author said: “A New Year’s resolution is something that goes in one year and out the other.”
Now, I still want you to do something this year, and I want you to start with it once I tell you what it is…don’t worry, it is something you can do, no matter how old you are, what is your sex, where do you live, what kind of job do you have or what language do you speak…what is it? Come back next week 😉
Meanwhile keep eating, walking, working, studying, dancing, singing, falling in love and reading the whispers 🙂
Rania Hammoud
You can also join my Facebook page

2 thoughts on “>2011-01-07 – Friday Whisper – Don’t Take Any Resolution!

  1. >I have heard many times that it takes 3 weeks for a habit to set in. Maybe so. What I find more difficult than establishing a habit is re-establishing that habit after life intervenes and throws me off my schedule. A creature of habit I am. And I started implementing my resolutions on my birthday which is at the end of December. I thought that having a habit span 2 years so quickly would be encouraging. We'll see!

  2. >wish u a good luck Christopher, above all, it takes will and persistency to install any habit and keep it, specially when life intervenes 🙂 Wish you great success with your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

