2011-09-16 – Friday Whisper – Wet Hiking

Last Sunday I went with “Footprints Nature Club” for a wet hiking trip; we had to walk thru the river during the hike.

While I was walking, I realized that this hike looked very much like life…

We had to walk thru the river, on slipping rocks underneath that we were not able to see because of the troubling water… We needed more than a pair of eyes… we needed our vision…

I used a small stick to know how deep the next step was, how big or small the next rock was, where should I put my foot next…

I was moving in baby steps, slowly but almost surely…

Sometimes I found myself alone… Sometimes me and another hiker had to stick together to guide each other… I would ask someone ahead of me, where would be the next safe path…

Sometimes I followed others’ footsteps… sometimes I was leading…

Sometimes I would walk on the river shore, but then I was missing the fun and would go again in the water…

Sometimes I would stop, sit on a rock and enjoy the view…in the middle of a river, surrounded with mountains and trees…

I kept my tree stick, even when at times when I didn’t need it, as it was helpful afterwards…

At one moment, I had to face my fears, that is of heights, and I had no choice but to keep going and climb some rocks with the help of other hikers…

At another moment, I had to walk thru thorns… scratching my legs and hands… but again I had no choice but to keep going… I was pissed off!

And with all the precautions I took, I ended up slipping in water twice…

Sometimes it was pleasant, sometimes it was painful…

When the hike was over, we got to a place with a splendid view…

We finished a hike with a mixture of feelings… But isn’t life all about this?

I learned never underestimate any tool you put your hands on, not even a simple tree stick…and never get rid of a tool that still good even if you don’t need it now, you might need it later…

I learned that with patience, you can go thru hard times…

I learned that help comes sometimes from people whom you thought weren’t friendly or funny…

I learned that after a hard time come good times…

I learned that having faith in yourself and your abilities is the only way to overcome any hardship…

I learned that if you choose to play it safe, others will bypass you… If you decide to go faster, probability that you will fall is higher… your choice…

I learned that there is no one-way to get to your goal and whichever route you take, it will be your choice…

I learned that it is very helpful to ask people who did it before, it saves you lots of trouble…

I learned that your fears are as big as you make them…

I learned that any obstacle remains one until you overcome it…

I learned that you can enjoy your journey alone or with others…

I learned that if you embrace your failures and laugh at them, you will make it easier to success…

I learned that wherever you would be, you can always take a moment to enjoy the scenery…

A quote reads: “Life is a mixture of sunshine and rain, teardrops and laughter, pleasure and pain. Just remember, there was never a cloud that the sun couldn’t shine through.”

Any moment of your life that passes will never come back again…

Rishmaya river - Lebanon

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com

You can also join my Facebook page

 

 

You like this post? Then feel free to share it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

