2011-11-25 – Friday Whisper – A Wall…

Only a wall that is left for us to share our thoughts with you, Anas…

I tried to resist writing about you, but I guess I failed… I said to myself, I’m not sure my readers want to read about death again…

Still death is something we live with everyday… although we will never get used to it, especially when we are losing a friend, teacher, colleague, cousin, son and brother like you…

You weren’t one of my close friends nor were you a friend I meant to call from time to time…But you were a friend whom when I used to meet you, there was always a kind of peace that reigns our short conversations… you were a person whom we meet once and we feel that we knew him for a long time…very calm, confident, always smiling, always listening to what others are saying, always contributing with his knowledge, humor and positive nature…

How you did it, I don’t know…how you faced your challenge with courage and acceptance till the last minute, how you faced your last minute? I don’t know… but I know that you didn’t give up easily, you fought with all what you had till the end…

With your death, I realized that sometimes we take our friends for granted, as if they will always be here, forgetting that death doesn’t mind taking away young people like yourself…. We don’t take the time even to write a simple “hello” message on their wall, from time to time, or make a phone call… Why? Maybe we don’t want to sound weird, calling or writing, out of nowhere, to say “hi”… Yet, once they leave, even if we write a whole poem on their wall, they won’t be around to cherish it…it will be a bit too late…(all of a sudden “sounding weird” for me sounds much better than “I wish I did”!!!)

With your death, you taught us how we can embrace our destiny, giving our best and leaving for God the rest…

With your death, you taught us by your great achievements, how if we live our life to the fullest, each day, we will leave with a peace of mind, knowing that we have fulfilled our duty, sharing what we know, loving whom we know, reaching out to our community, giving back and making this world a better one by touching positively people’s lives around us…

Thomas Campbell, a Scottish poet, said: “To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die.”

Anas, your wall is full of heartily thoughts from people you loved… Our thoughts are on your wall, but your memory will always be in our hearts…

*This whisper is dedicated to our late friend Anas Hamoui who left us at the age of 37 after a battle with brain cancer. May Allah grant his family patience and strength to go thru this hard time…

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com

You can also join my Facebook page

You like this post? Then feel free to share it 🙂

Leave a Reply

