2012-01-13 – Friday Whisper – Piano…

Have I told you that I’m taking piano lessons? I just start few weeks ago and so far so good!

People would ask me: “ But, did you ask if you can learn it at this age?” I would answer: “I didn’t even bother asking that question!”… I guess you know me enough by now…do I look like if they told me I can’t learn it, this will stop me??? Why? Because someone someday said that you should start such thing while you are a child, otherwise it doesn’t work??? Yeah right!

What is the worst that can happen anyway? I won’t learn it? I would be wasting my money? So what? It is mine, right? 😉 Besides, there is one way to find out whether I would learn it or not: by taking those lessons!

I can tell you this is serious stuff, how to hold your fingers on the keyboard, how to read the notes, how to play and read the notes at the same time, and how to play with both hands!!!! A lot of concentration, that, I can tell you!

But I like it; it is daring me somehow, to see how far I can go with this, how good I can get, especially that it depends solely on my determination and how much effort I put into it!!! It is challenging my patience and discipline, and I like it 🙂

We only grow when we take ourselves out of our comfort zone, when we do things where there is a room of failure, because only then we will practice abilities that we know and discover new ones!

Piano could be a simple thing compared to daring yourself to a new job, new relationship, moving to a new town/country, getting through university, starting your own business…and it is not just about starting all these, because many do, but about succeeding in them, even excelling, where many have failed; for those who have failed didn’t fail because they didn’t like success, but because they didn’t practice patience and persistency… they accepted the first failure without trying again… they didn’t try to listen or didn’t seek knowledge, they resisted change… as while you’re changing you might experience discomfort at first, but if you are changing in the right direction, your efforts will blossom into success, slowly but surely tasting sweet, really sweet…

Cecil Beaton, an English painter, said: “Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.”

And Brian Tracy, a Canadian author and motivational speaker, said: “Move out of your comfort zone. You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new.”

One day, I will invite you to my concert… stay tuned! 😉

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com

You can also join my Facebook page

You like this post? Then feel free to share it 🙂

Leave a Reply

