2012-03-30 – Friday Whisper – Call me a Trim Tab – Part 1

I was once watching an environmental documentary talking about what would be the situation on Earth 30, 50, 100 years from now…how water might become scarce, how the ozone layer will be bigger, how many animals, insects will be extinct by then, how the global warming will affect the climate of different countries…and how all this will affect humans’ life…

By 2100, if we don’t reduce CO2, global warming will increase Earth’s average temperature by 11.5 degree Fahrenheit. This will cause disease spread, animal extension, disappearing of mountain glaciers, among other problems.

World population will increase by 45% in the next 30 years, while fresh water will increase by 10%. Water will be a serious problem by then. Water quality will deteriorate, less water will be available for farms, and wastewater use will increase, among other problems.

On a first thought, I said to myself, who cares, I won’t be here by then, I don’t have kids to worry about, and to be honest, I would be sad for the rest of you and your descendants, but I won’t be turning in my grave!!!

On a second thought, I realized that whatever will happen in the future, will depend on what I do today… and if we do nothing, we will be the criminals of tomorrow…whether we will be here or not… This is when it struck me in my face!!! I will be one of the criminals, it will be my fault, not solely, but my fault… it is the same thing as if I kill a human being today, even if nobody will know about it, I will still be a criminal and I will know it… and that, will make me turn in my grave…

Once I realized this, I understood the importance of trying to preserve our Earth as much as possible, even doing tiny efforts like recycling our papers, giving away stuff that are still useful, using Energy efficient appliances, buying only what we need, reusing what we have… any effort, no matter how small it is, we still call it an effort, so it still counts!

According to Wikipedia, “trim tabs are small surfaces connected to the trailing edge of a larger control surface such as a rudder of a boat”. Moving slightly the trim tab will build the right pressure to move the rudder around, thus moving the biggest ship.

Image

Buckminster Fuller, an American engineer, inventor and author, is often cited for his use of trim tabs as a metaphor for leadership and personal empowerment, how one person can move a whole big ship, “So I said, call me Trim Tab” he said…

Gandhi said: “The earth, the air, the land and the water are not an inheritance from our fore fathers but on loan from our children. So we have to handover to them at least as it was handed over to us.”

Move the ship farther in the right direction, be a “Trim Tab”!

Image

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

www.twitter.com/Rania_Hammoud

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com 

You can also join my Facebook page

You like this post? Then feel free to share it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

