2012-04-13 – Friday Whisper – In a far far away land…

Last week I went on a spiritual pilgrimage (called Umrah in Islam) to Mecca and Medina… A trip different from any other one for me…I disconnected myself from everything else in my life… Can you imagine 4 days with no facebooking, no tweeting and no whatsupping??? I did it!!!! J

The feeling was special; constant serenity, nothing else meant anything… I felt as if I was taken away to a far far away land where, at some point, nothing else existed anymore… On my last day I felt I was taken away from a place I didn’t want to leave…

And the view became clearer…

I realized how we invested more time on less important stuff… how we created positions, matters, rules, definitions, conditions and gave them the power to control us: work, relationships, other people’s opinion, social standards, awards, currency…

I realized how we can come from different background, race, ethnicity, country, continent, speaking different languages and living different lives and still be able to come together to share one place, doing the same ritual, dealing with compassion, sharing the same feeling and crying the same tears…

I realized also that religion wasn’t only about praying and fasting, but about how useful you are while you’re here, how you are spending your time, with whom, doing what and for what reason…

If you are a Muslim, you don’t have to be religious to take such a trip…

If you are a non-Muslim, every religion has some kind of pilgrimage…

If you are a non-believer in God or the after-life, you might have all your reasoning that goes with it, and that’s fine, as belief is a very personal thing… just make sure you’re not falling in the “easiest-way-to-do-it” trap, where you do search/look/dig no more, and question no more… still don’t forget to create your own pilgrimage…

Go on a pilgrimage not to discover your religion but to discover yourself…

Read about other religions, not to convert but to better understand yours…

A. C. Benson, a British author, said: “As I make my slow pilgrimage through the world, a certain sense of beautiful mystery seems to gather and grow.”

And Alison Stormwolf, a poet, said: “Withdraw yourself from the never ending masquerade of life. Go within, there you will find your treasure.”

Take the trip; it is the gym for your spirit…

Image

Photo taken at dawn...

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

www.twitter.com/Rania_Hammoud

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com

You can also join my Facebook page

You like this post? Then feel free to share it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

