2014-12-12 – Friday Whisper – He Took My Spot…

Few weeks ago, my sister stumbled upon a voicemail note from our late dad and sent it to me…when I heard it, I realized how much I have been missing him and his voice, I treated myself to a good cry…. all I wanted is to go back 10 years in time and stay there, where dad was still alive, where everything seemed fine…

“He took my spot” my friend said when I was giving her my condolences for the passing away of her brother, a man at his 40’s; he had a sudden heart attack and left our world… just like that…

Every time we bury a loved one, we bury a piece of our soul with them…and we cry over that piece for the rest of our lives…

Unless you have lost a dad or a mom, you don’t know how it feels…

Unless you have lost a brother or sister, you won’t know how it feels…

Unless you have lost a spouse or a child, you won’t know how it feels…

Only if you’ve lost one of them, you would stop complaining about a cold coffee, or a long wait in the line, or the traffic… You would stop crying over a spilled juice or a forgotten rotten meal in the fridge…

If you knew you would lose one of them tomorrow, or that they will get a life threatening disease, maybe you will stop complaining today about your dad calling you many times to come home or not buying you stuff you want… or your mom’s loads of advices…or your old folks repeating their own stories of “in our days” over and over again…

You would stop complaining about your husband eating loudly or snoring at night, or your wife not doing things your way, or your kid being late again or not studying enough…

You would stop complaining about your brother borrowing your stuff without asking you first, or your sister taking your car and not returning on time…

I know all these things can be very annoying sometimes, yet compared to losing your dear ones, trust me, those things become silly and of no importance….

So don’t wait till you are very close to losing them to express your disapproval in a more gentle, considerate and empathic way… and maybe some stuff are not really important to sweat over them, if you give it another thought…

Don’t take people and things in your life for granted… Cherish the parts you have instead of looking to the missing ones…

Epicurus, an ancient Greek philosopher, said: “Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”

And Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said: “Gabriel came to me and said: ‘O Muhammad, live as long as you want, for you will die. Love whomever you want, for you will leave them.”

Whatever you do today will become the memory of tomorrow…make sure you are making a good one!

2014-12-12 - Friday Whisper - He took my spot

Rania Hammoud, Life Coach

http://www.perfectmind.ca

Follow me at http://www.twitter.com/Rania_Hammoud

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blogspot.com

Or https://raniahammoud.wordpress.com

You can also like my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/PerfectMindLifeCoaching

Don’t forget to share this post 🙂

3 thoughts on “2014-12-12 – Friday Whisper – He Took My Spot…

Leave a Reply

