2016-01-22 – Friday Whisper – The Life I want…

The other day I asked myself a question:” if a doctor told you that you have a terminal disease and that you’ve got only one year to live, what would be your reaction?”. And my immediate response was: “I would live the life I want to the fullest”. Now my very next question was: “and what would the life you want look like?”, this is where my mind went totally blank!!!! And I wondered, was it that I didn’t know what I want or maybe I am already living the life I want? I couldn’t answer this either…

I realized that answering the question “What do you want?” is not as easy as it seems. What do you want to do in your life? What do you want to achieve? What do you want your future to look like? When you reach your future, what do you want your past to look like? In short, What Do You Want?

I’d like to think that I am getting it all in my life, yet I want to make sure of that. I don’t want to wake up 10 years down the road and discover that I missed on achieving something very important to me, that I totally overlooked and realize that it is too late to do it…

If I can figure out what is my purpose on this earth, how do I want to make use of the time left for me, maybe this can help me know how to design the life I want…

Maybe one of the ways to figure this out is to ask the 8-years old child in you what does he/she like and not like about the person you are today…

Another way to ask yourself if you had the magic wand with unlimited choices what things would you create? After the cars, houses, clothes, accessories, gadgets you got yourself, what else would you get?

A third way that helps you is if you can point out your passion, maybe you would be on the right way as well… and trust me, this is not easy to do as well!

A forth way is to think about what do you want people to remember you for, once you leave this life? What would you like your legacy to be?

Now once you are able to figure this out, start acting on designing the life you want; don’t wait for a terminal illness to do so!!!

Alan Alda, an American author and actor, said: “Be brave enough to live life creatively. The creative place where no one else has ever been.”

And Pope Paul VI, said: “Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.”
I am off to figure out the life I want, what about you?

driverlife

Rania Hammoud, ACC,Life Coach

www.perfectmind.ca

Check also my blog at http://raniahammoud.blospot.com or at raniahammoud.wordpress.com

You can also join my Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

